Job-related injuries may warrant workers’ comp in New Jersey
When a New Jersey worker has suffered injuries on the job, the worker’s medical costs, missed time at work, and overall uncertainty can be stressful. Focusing on recovery is key after any injury, and fear as to what happens next can hinder that. Fortunately, workers’ compensation benefits are available.
After a work-related injury, understanding workers’ comp laws is essential. Time is a factor. After the injury, the worker generally has 14 days to inform the employer. Some circumstances allow up to 90 days. Before the benefits start, there is a waiting period of seven days with retroactive payments.
Even workers who do not reside in New Jersey can get workers’ comp if they were injured in the state. Most injuries that happened through work will warrant benefits. If, however, it is an occupational issue, time is a factor. If a worker suffers a hearing loss due to job requirements, for example, there will be two years to file after discovering it is due to the work. Benefits through workers’ comp include coverage for lost wages, medical care, and vocational rehabilitation. There may be maximum wage coverage, but with workers’ comp, workers generally receive 70% of their weekly wages.
Some employers could claim that the injury did not stem from work, sparking a dispute. After a denied claim, the worker can request a hearing before the Division of Workers’ Compensation. Temporary disability insurance may pay benefits while the claim is being assessed. This will pay two-thirds of the person’s wages. Injured workers must file the claim in time and adhere to the state requirements to receive benefits. If there is an issue or the claim is denied, injured workers may want to have guidance and help from a law firm experienced in workers’ comp claims.